
THREE WAYS TO APPLY FOR A  
STATE BUSINESS LICENSE 

 

1 Online at www.nvsilverflume.gov. Receive your license 

immediately when you apply online at SilverFlume,  

Nevada’s Business Portal. 

 

2  In person or by mail/fax at our Carson City office 

(regular processing only): 

 

202 N. Carson Street 

Carson City, NV 89701 

 

3  In person or by mail/fax at our Las Vegas office 

(expedited processing only): 

 

555 E. Washington Ave., Suite 5200 

Las Vegas, NV 89101 

WHEN SHOULD I APPLY FOR A 
BUSINESS LICENSE? 
 

I mmediately. You cannot conduct business in Nevada 

without a license. Once received, your business li-

cense, or exemption, must be renewed annually. 

 

The business license fee is $200 for initial filings and 

annual renewals. 

 

Any person or entity conducting business in this State 

without an active Nevada business license may incur   

penalties and fines from $1,000 to $10,000 in addition to 

the business license fee.   

 

If you are aware of a entity operating without a business 

license, we encourage you to file a complaint with the  

Secretary of State’s office. The form can be found under 

“File a Complaint” in the Information Center of the SOS  

website, www.nvsos.gov.  

WHO NEEDS A BUSINESS LICENSE? 
 

A ccording to Nevada Revised Statutes 76.020, a 

“business” is defined as: 

 

 Any person or natural person(s) who perform a ser-

vice or engage in trade for profit (NRS 76.020(a)(b)) 

 

 Any entity organized pursuant to this title, including, 

without limitations, those entities required to file with  

the Secretary of State, whether or not the entity per-

forms a service or engages in a business for project 

(NRS 76.020(c)) 

 

If you receive a 1099 form for any work performed in 

Nevada, or if you are an owner of a business, you need a 

state business license. 

Nevada Business License 
 

What You Need to Know as a Business Owner 

DO I QUALIFY FOR AN EXEMPTION? 
 

S ome individuals may claim an exemption to the business 

license requirement. Exemptions are listed in Nevada Re-

vised Statutes 76.020(2) and Nevada Administrative Code 76. 

BOTTOM LINE: Business owners and independent contractors need to secure a valid Nevada business 
license or an exemption to the state business license prior to conducting any business activity. 

DO I STILL NEED A STATE BUSINESS 
LICENSE IF I HAVE A COUNTY OR CITY 
BUSINESS LICENSE? 
 

Y es. You must maintain a state business license as well 

as a county and/or city business license. Our “New 

Business Checklist” on www.nvsilverflume.gov tells you 

what licenses your business needs  following a brief, five-

question survey. 

QUESTIONS? 
 

(775) 684-7146 
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